Foghat at The Rose Pasadena

Foghat
Date: May 25, 2017
Location:
 The Rose, Pasadena

DAryMR1XgAAp3iz

Story
A few hours before doors opened the decision became clear that I would attend this concert. Goldstar had a fantastic deal that I ultimately could not turn down. I arrived during the last minutes of the first opening bands performance which based on the crowds reaction did a great job. As I surveyed the venue I noticed the layout had changed; the row of chairs on the left were  replaced by tables while the back middle section become the standing section. This worked perfectly as I obtained one of the best spots in the venue. The second band took the stage who put on a great show. Unfortunately I did not take down the names of the two opening bands, if anyone knows please let me know. This particular band had been around for a long time, that’s what I gathered from the lead singer. Unusual for a setlist, the band played their old songs first as they transitioned to the newest songs last. The memorable moment occurred with the drummer as they played the second song. He bang the drum cymbal too hard causing it to fall down over the platform. Everybody in the band had tremendous amount of energy, which I particularly enjoyed grooving into. The best song of theirs from that night had to be their performance of 100 Years, their catchiest song. The lead singer lived an interesting life as he would spout trivial tidbits about what he had to overcome. I genuine would love to listen to his life story as he seemed to have gone through a lot.

As time flew by people started crowding around the area. As luck would have it, the most annoying guy I have ever encountered at a concert stood next to me. He came alone to the show just like myself, however he would talk to himself throughout the night. He would say “Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful” at least five times per every song. If not that, he would say “Oh come on now. That is great.” Normally I am not bothered by people speaking at shows, however with this guy’s shouting I could barely hear the lead singer singing. I mean dude, who are you talking to? I understand that everyone has their own way of enjoying concerts, but this guy got on my nerves. I would have moved if not for the fact that I had the best spot in the venue. Hoping to never encounter this guy again at the venue in the future. I’m done venting about that, usually try not to talk about the audience at the shows but this guy just irked me enough that I had to vent my frustration.

Foghat started off their setlist with a bang. I became mesmerized by lead singer Charlie Huhn’s hair instantly. The air conditioning hit his hair in a manner that created a flowing effect. I had not been amazed by someone’s hair as when I saw Steel Panthers the year prior. For those unaware, Huhn replaced original Foghat singer Dave Peverett when he died of cancer 17 years prior. Since becoming a part of Foghat, Huhn has recorded 2 studio and one live album with the band. Road Fever kicked off their setlist followed by an energetic performance of Under The Influence. Playing their requests to Chuck Berry, they covered his classic Maybellene. That would not be the only song they covered as My Babe by The Righteous Brothers made an appearance that night. After performing Wild Child, Huhn announced they would be playing the whole “Foghat Live” album to the amusement of the crowd. This year marks the album’s 40th anniversary, has it really been that long? The band blew the roof of the venue as they donned the task of playing all their classic songs. Home In My Hand became the first hit the band tackled which ranked as one of the memorable numbers of the night. The performance remains in my eyes as the most tranquilizing in which I swayed to notes letting my problems disappear from my mind. The next couple of songs energized the room as people sang and danced to the infectious music. Honey Rush, I Just Want To Make Love To YouAll Night Long, and Sweet Home Chicago all kept up the momentum of the band’s high energy with the next performance turning out better than the last. The best had been saved for last as the intro to Slow Ride filled the room. All I could think about during this last song were the final moments of the movie Dazed and Confused. Since high school I’ve been wanting to have a sort of Dazed moment which finally happened that night. I could not have been happier having the opportunity to listen to this classic performed live. In fact, the whole reason why I attended this concert had to do with hearing this song. It would have been amazing to hear Peverett’s version, but Huhn’s version turned out to be quite phenomenal. You better believe I sang at the top of my lungs during every “Slow Ride, Take It Easy.” This thunderous experience sadly had to come to an end, but what an explosive performance to end the night. I am glad that I can cross this band off my bucket list because I had an amazing time and would see this band again if given the opportunity. For those that still have not seen this terrific band I would recommend seeing them if you want a fun time.

Foghat Setlist
1. Road Fever
2. Under The Influence
3. Maybellene (Chuck Berry Cover)
4. What A Shame
5. Easy Money
6. My Babe (The Righteous Brothers)
7. Wild Cherry
8. Home In My Hand
9. Honey Hush
10. I Just Want To Make Love To You
11. All Night Long
12. Sweet Home Alabama
13. Sweet Home Chicago
14. Slow Ride

Trivial Notes

  • 7th concert at The Rose.
  • 1st time seeing Foghat.
  • 6th time getting tickets through Goldstar.
  • “Foghat Live” performed in full to celebrate the album’s 40th anniversary.
  • For a brief time on May 31, 2017 Foghat’s official Facebook page shared this review on their page. As of this writing it has been taken down.
Leave a Reply

